Latest News

05 Apr 2018

European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018

Thurles Credit Union | European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018

24 May 2018

Data Protection GDPR

On 25th May 2018, new EU regulations come into effect which are commonly reffered to as the GDPR regulations. The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) will strenghten data protection for all citizens within the European Union. GDPR is good news for members. It makes it easier for you to access your personal information and control how it is used.

27 Apr 2019

Online Loan Applications

Experience the power of our new Online Loan Application, an innovative way to secure your Thurles Credit Union loan efficiently and without any hassle.

30 May 2019

Member Notice Savings Cap

In recent years, Thurles Credit Union (TCU) has experienced a significant increase in the level of savings held by members. In 2018 alone, our savings increased by €7.46 million. Under Central Bank regulations, all credit unions are required to maintain reserves of at least 10% of our assets.

07 Oct 2019

Maintenance to our website

Due to maintenance to our website you will not be able to transact today the 30/09/19 from 5pm until 9am Tuesday the 01/10. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

01 Jan 2020

Managing Financial Debt

Thurles Credit Union | Managing Financial Debt

26 May 2020

Member notice for Online Banking Changes

Please note that we will be introducing some improvements to your Online Banking experience over the coming months. These changes are in preparation for compliance with European banking regulations - Payment Services Directive 2 (PSD2) - which come into force on September 14th 2019. These regulations bring additional safety and security to your online banking.

21 Jul 2020

Coronavirus

Due to the rise of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) within Ireland, we thought it to be prudent to share some of the additional ways you can access your Credit Union services.

Member Complaint Procedure

It is the aspiration of Thurles Credit Union that a complaint against the credit union will be resolved in a fair and equitable manner.  However, as with any service provider, things may go wrong from time to time.  Where you have a complaint about our service to you, we want you to tell us.  Telling us will ensure that your complaint is dealt with in accordance with our complaints procedure (set out below) and it may help us improve our service to you and our other members.

The Member Complaints Procedure is drawn up in accordance with the Credit Union Standard Rules and the applicable legislation. Full details of the scheme are contained in Rule 108 of the Rules of the credit union.

Step 1

The complainant discusses the complaint with the Complaints Officer of Thurles Credit Union. The complainant submits the “Complaints Form” together with all relevant documentation to the Complaints Officer. The Complaints Officer who will, where possible, resolve the complaint.

If the complaint is not resolved to the satisfaction of the complainant:

Step 2

The complainant discusses the complaint with the Complaints Officer of Thurles Credit Union. The complainant submits the “Complaints Form” together with all relevant documentation to the Complaints Officer. The Complaints Officer who will, where possible, resolve the complaint.

If the complaint is not resolved to the satisfaction of the complainant:

Step 3

The complainant submits the “Complaints Form” together with all relevant documentation to date to the complaints committee. The complainant will have the right to be heard by the complaints committee who will investigate, discuss and, wherever possible, resolve the complaint.

If the complaint is not resolved to the satisfaction of the complainant: 

Step 4

The complainant should request the Secretary of the credit union to forward the “Complaints Form” to the Board of Directors of Thurles Credit Union. The complainant will have the right to be heard by the Board of Directors, which will investigate, discuss and wherever possible, resolve the complaint.

If the complaint is not resolved to the satisfaction of the complainant:

Step 5

If you are dissatisfied with the final response you have received or at any stage of the process you can write to The Financial Services Ombudsman who can investigate complaints by members of Thurles Credit Union so long as the complaint falls within the jurisdiction of the Ombudsman.

Nothing in Rule 108 shall prevent the Financial Services Ombudsman from investigating and adjudicating a complaint made against a credit union about the provision of, or failure to provide, a financial service, so long as the complaint:

  1. falls with the jurisdiction of that Ombudsman, and
  2. does not relate to a matter that involves only the governance of the credit union.

The Ombudsman is an independent officer whose remit is to investigate, mediate and adjudicate unresolved complaints of individual customers about financial service providers. The complaints procedure in the credit union should have been exhausted before you contact the Financial Ombudsman.
Financial Services Ombudsman, 3rd Floor, Lincoln House, Lincoln Place, Dublin 2. For more information please visit the website link www.financialombudsman.ie.
In accordance with the Credit Union Act, 1997 (as amended), and because the Rules of the credit union give directions as to the manner in which disputes are to be decided, every dispute to which the credit union is a party shall be decided in that manner.

In accordance with the Credit Union Act, 1997 (as amended), and because the Rules of the credit union give directions as to the manner in which disputes are to be decided, every dispute to which the credit union is a party shall be decided in that manner.